What I Wish I Had More Time For (And Why I’m Not Making It)

fountain pen.JPG

This is a rather apropos question for my first blog entry because it is something I’ve been struggling with for years. I really won’t get anywhere with my quest to become a published fiction writer if I can’t be dedicated to actually writing. So what’s keeping me?

I’ve never been a very disciplined person. Anyone who has known me for a while will be nodding their head in agreement right about now. There are big plans I’ve announced, spent a few days following, then simply forgot about them. Obviously this will need to change if I am to be successful with my quest.

I’ve also always been a very self-critical person. It’s far too easy for me to get “blocked” trying to achieve perfection, or for me to stall getting to work on something if I don’t have the idea fully formed in my head. I find it difficult to simply sit down and get writing if I don’t have a project already outlined in front of me.

I have no doubts I can do the work. I’ve “won” at NaNoWriMo several times, and my work has been reviewed by other authors (both published and not-yet-published), and I’ve received very positive encouragement. I just have to do it.

And thus, this blog. Here I will record my progress, share my thoughts on my process, link to resources I find that might prove useful, and eventually crow about my success. And if I make a few friends, or find some interesting people to spend time with along the way, my life will be all the better for it.

Powered by Plinky

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

