Long Time No Write

Image of a modern fountain pen writing in curs...

Image of a modern fountain pen writing in cursive script. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I started a new job at my company of employment in May, voluntarily getting tossed into the deep end of a very large and fast-paced project. I worked every day for a month and a half taking only a single Saturday off. I’ve put more hours into this job than I have in any previous job. And I’ve loved it.

However, one of the consequences of this has been my writing. I’ve not been devoting much time to it at all. I’ve played around with some thoughts for a contemporary murder mystery, some character sketches, and a lot of noodling, but no real writing.

As kids these days say, I am disappoint.

The pages drop from my calendar like leaves in fall, and I see that November is not too far away, so naturally my thoughts turn to NaNoWriMo. I’m expecting I won’t compete this year, but even just knowing it’s coming stirs my writerly juices.

During a recent shower (my most creative time during the day, naturally), a thought floated into my consciousness. The thought crystalized my understanding of the premise and theme of a story that’s been rattling around in the back of my head for a good year or more. It made me see why the original ending of that story just wasn’t working for me, and suggested an entirely different ending that perfectly ties the beginning of the story to its climax. The original ending actually would work better for second story with the same characters. (Yeah, here I go, planning multiple books without having written a single one.)

So, I’m spending time today getting to know the main character, trying on different names to see if anything fits well, and brainstorming the events in the story’s timeline. I know where it begins, I now know where it ends, and I know a few things that have to happen in the middle. Beyond that? Gotta figure that all out.

It will be nice to return to my morning practice. I even got my sweetie to print out a blank tracking calendar for me to use. 🙂

Posted on September 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

