Works in Progress

I’m finding these days that when I’m free-thinking about my writing, my mind rotates between four current projects. It can be difficult to keep my undisciplined mind focused on one of those projects for more than a couple of weeks. Since I’m not making major progress with any of them, I’m okay at the moment working for a week on one of them then jumping to another and making a week’s worth of progress there. Eventually, I hope one of the grabs me and makes me focus on it. If that doesn’t happen, I’m going to need to find the discipline to focus without that particular inspiration. I’m not in a hurry, though, because each time I jump from one to the other, I’m finding new depth, new details that make the story more alive and vibrant. I’m an unabashed planner, not a pantser, but sometimes it’s hard to sit down and plan out the level of detail necessary to make the work three-dimensional. By having several balls in the air as I juggle the stories, I feel I’m allowing the muse that typically drives pantsers to do it’s magic.

For posterity’s sake, here is a brief run down of my current WIPs:

  • “ACoS” – A fantasy story in the mold of many gritty yet epic fantasies, this one is the furthest along. I actually have a full draft completed, but as I was writing it, I was aware that there are major problems with the plot, and not enough going on in the background to satisfy me. This one is intentionally set aside for a while to let my subconscious percolate on it for a while.
  • “P!” – Unabashed space opera, and one that’s been fluttering around in the back of my head for a while. I have the overall arc of the story understood, but each time I go back to it, I find more nuances and details that I want to capture. The characters are evolving and deepening with each pass over the skeleton of the work, and if I focus on anything soon, this will probably be the one I work on.
  • “TAaM” – Originally intended to be the script for a web comic, I realized I wasn’t going to be able to make it work in that format. (It probably could work, I just don’t have the skill to make it work.) However, it’s coming along well as a novel. It’s a contemporary work with a lot of gay overtones. It could work well as a YA novel, but I’m not going to pigeonhole it before it has had a chance to fully germinate.
  • “FP” – My foray into murder mysteries, but with a burly gay male protagonist. This was today’s focus, as I realized some details about the victim and how he ties in with other characters in the work. Mysteries need a certain level of convolution, and should be filled with a certain level of misdirection. This is challenging for me, since I tend to be a straightforward writer. However, it’s a good challenge. If I can write a good mystery with fully believable characters, many of which could be the killer, it will help deepen my writing in my other works.

So, four different works, in several different genres.

I’m kinda crazy, aren’t I?

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Exciting! They all sound great, but I think I’m personally most curious about the murder mystery. Looking forward to hearing more about your progress!

Leave a Reply

