Getting back into the saddle….

I’ve been managing to sit down at my writing desk for several days over the last couple of weeks. The first couple of days, I merely reviewed what I had done so far on my current WiP (Work in Progress). The next few days were spent brainstorming scenes in the novel. I’m targeting 40 scenes, half of which should deal with the main plot, the rest on supporting plots. (I’m very much a Story Engineer.) Unfortunately, I’m stalling out on details of the main plot, so I decided to take the plunge and start simply writing in one of the scenes I know has to be there. I haven’t written much in a while so my 523 words took me a while longer than usual, but boy did it feel good.

(And yes, I did get some lightbox therapy in at the same time.)

Now if only I could figure out the events of my primary plot, I’ll be a happy guy. Well, “happy” in terms of where my writing is going; no promises in any other aspect of my life. Since the genre I’m writing in requires a well-laid out and integrated plot, I don’t want to try and write by the “seat of my pants”. Besides, I like to have a rough map of where I’m going before I commit words on paper, even if half-way through the journey I stop and draw an entirely new map.

Posted on February 18, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Would you be more or less productive if that was your Writing Chair? πŸ˜‰

    Good for you for getting back at it!

    • Probably less productive. I tend to prefer my desk chair to be tilted forward so I can’t slouch too much, and I need back support. I think if I tried to spend any significant time at a desk while sitting in a saddle, my back would quickly complain. πŸ™‚

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

